Philosophy and Depression

by @raimondiand

I came across an interesting and brief discussion on William James depression, that he suffered from his 20s to his 30s. According to Richard Rorty most people who recovered from several mental issues “don’t know what happened, they just used to be sick and now are well. It’s a mystery to them why therapy works”. I disagree with Rorty; but I agree with him that you can’t *decide* to get over depression. I believe that, putting aside therapy, there’s an interplay between one’s own philosophical investigation and results and one’s own mental health. Philosophical thinking has a deep impact on your psychological life. Sometimes bad impact. But it can also gives you a way to think, reason and shift your perspective about depression while you’re into that. Especially if you’re into both depression and philosophy. Or so I argue.

